Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_9401My grandma putting on my “Easter outfit”
546721_10150817004715809_885134921_n

 

Happy Easter everyone!

You realize that traditions are celebrated in very different ways when you live abroad. In Sweden, Easter celebration has been transformed into a kind of entertainment for children. Children dressed in kerchiefs and long skirts walk the streets carrying old fashioned coffee kettles wish they expect to have filled with candy or small change. We call them Easter hags or Easter witches.

Here in OZ I have not seen any Easter witches and I am pretty sure I would not get any small change or candy if I gave it a try. The weather is too hot here anyway. Easter in Perth is celebrates on the beach followed by a barbecue and yes, of course some hot crossed buns.